Sedgwick County commissioners have filled their leadership positions for the new year.    District three commissioner David Dennis was unanimously chosen to serve another year as the chairman, and new district one commissioner Pete Meitzner was unanimously approved as the chairman pro tem.

Dennis said it has been an honor to represent the people who work for Sedgwick County, and Meitzner said he looks forward to serving the county in the new year.

Wednesday’s meeting was the first for Meitzner and new district four commissioner Lacey Cruse, who said she wants to work for mental health issues, economic growth and protecting the environment.

During the meeting, Dennis presented the annual Chairman’s Award to the Wichita Public Schools JROTC/Leadership Corps.   Dennis said the students in the program are involved in the community and they provide support to local businesses.  He called them extraordinary future leaders who will have an impact on the community.  The Chairman’s Award has been presented since 1988 to a person, organization or project that has shown a high level of public service to the community.