Sedgwick County commissioners have certified the final results of the November 3rd general election, and the race for the District Two county commission seat has been decided.

Democrat Sarah Lopez won over Republican incumbent Michael O’Donnell by 264 votes in the final count.   Lopez had 17,041 votes to capture 49.71 percent of the vote. O’Donnell had 16,777 votes for 48.94 percent.

O’Donnell resigned on November 13th after Sedgwick County District Attorney Marc Bennett announced that there was enough evidence to begin ouster proceedings over O’Donnell’s involvement in a false attack ad against Brandon Whipple during the Wichita mayoral campaign in 2019.

A Republican precinct committee is expected to choose a new commissioner to serve until January 10th, when Lopez will be sworn into office.

Lopez will be the second Democrat on the county commission, joining District Four commissioner Lacey Cruse.

The turnout in Sedgwick County for the general election was just over 70 percent.