County smoking policy now includes vaping

Sedgwick County commission makes a policy change

WICHITA, Kan - Sedgwick County commissioners have approved a policy change for county employees that includes the use of e-cigarettes or vaping along with smoking.    The change means vaping will not be allowed inside county buildings. 

County employees will have to use designated smoking areas and be at least 25 feet from a building entrance whether they are smoking or vaping.    

Commission chairman David Dennis says the county will have one policy for its public facilities, and he cited studies reported by anti-tobacco groups that are raising concerns that vaping can lead to tobacco use.  

The change was approved on a 3-2 vote, with Commissioners Jim Howell and Richard Ranzau voting no.  Howell cited studies that claim vaping can be used to help smokers quit, and he said it's wrong to compare vaping with cigarette smoking. 


Print this article Back to Top