Governor updates drought declarations in Kansas

Recent rains have helped in 55 counties

Kansas governor Jeff Colyer has issued a new executive order to update his drought declaration for a number of counties.

The governor said many areas of the state are now drought free because of much needed rains in recent weeks.  He said the eastern part of the state is still experiencing drought conditions and his new order has 50 counties in emergency status, while five counties are in a watch status.  

Tracy Streeter, director of the Kansas Water Office and chair of the Governor's Drought Response Team, said there are still areas with livestock water shortages and forage production has been less than half for most producers in eastern Kansas.   Some areas of northeast Kansas are still behind more than ten inches of moisture for the year. 

The counties in emergency stage are eligible for emergency use of water from certain state fishing lakes. The counties who are under emergency status include Sedgwick, Sumner, Reno, Butler, Cowley, Harvey, Kingman, Harper, McPherson, Marion and Saline counties.   

The counties in a watch status are Allen, Chautauqua, Elk, Wilson and Woodson counties in southeast Kansas.  


Print this article Back to Top