TOPEKA, Kan. - The number of Kansans applying for concealed carry permits hit a record low since the program started in 2006.
For the fiscal year ending in 2018, 4,896 applications were processed.
Many Kansans may be taking advantage of the state's constitutional carry law, allowing resident to carry without a license. That change took effect in 2015.
Attorney General, Derek Schmidt, says there are still advantages to getting a license. “Many Kansans continue to recognize the benefits of obtaining a license, including our reciprocity agreements with other states,” Schmidt said. “We continue to work with other states to ensure Kansas licenses are recognized.”
Kansas permits are recognized in 40 other states.
The application fee has recently been lowered to $112, from $132.50. Renewal prices haven't changed.