This Year's "CMT:Artists Of The Year" Will Honor Only Women

This year's "CMT Artists of the Year" special is going to be all female.  As in, every honoree will be a woman.

We're talking Miranda Lambert, Maren Morris, Carrie Underwood, Kelsea Ballerini . . . plus Little Big Town's Karen Fairchild and Kimberly Schlapman . . . and Lady Antebellum's Hillary Scott.

Is this their way of recognizing the #MeToo movement?  Of course.  And maybe the dreadful lack of female Entertainer of the Year nominees at the CMAs and ACMs.  Mostly it's a start, and it's appreciated.

Here are some of the reactions country stars shared on their social media....

No word yet on the list of performers.  The show will air October 17th.


Print this article Back to Top