TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) Eighteen attorneys and district court judges have applied for a soon-to-be vacant seat on the Kansas Court of Appeals.

Gov.-elect Laura Kelly’s office released a list of the applicants Friday. She also appointed a bipartisan, nine-member committee to screen the applications and name three finalists. Her choice must be confirmed by the state Senate.

Applicants include former Secretary of State Chris Biggs and District Judges Daniel Cahill of Wyandotte County, Jeffry Jack of Labette County and Teresa Watson of Shawnee County.

Kelly’s appointee would replace Judge Patrick McAnany. He is retiring Jan. 14, when Kelly becomes governor.

State law does not require a governor to have a committee screen applications or conduct public interviews as Kelly plans . Former Republican Gov. Sam Brownback refused even to release applicants’ names.