It’s opening weekend for the Wichita Thunder hockey team. Friday night, the puck drops against the Indy Fuel at 7:05. This season — County 101.3 KFDI’s Bobby Knight will be the emcee for the home games.

Thunder Announces Season-Opening Roster

The Wichita Thunder, ECHL affiliate of the NHL’s Edmonton Oilers, AHL’s Bakersfield Condors and powered by Toyota, announced today their season-opening roster in advance of the team’s 28th year in the Air Capital.

The Thunder will start with 10 forwards, seven defensemen, two goalies and two players who will start the season on reserve. Wichita will return only three players from last year’s roster. Two players are on NHL contracts while two others have been loaned to the Thunder from Bakersfield.

Forwards (10): Chris Crane, Spencer Dorowicz, Stefan Fournier, Steven Iacobellis, Nick Miglio, Fabrizio Ricci, Ostap Safin, Beau Starrett, Jordan Sims, Joe Widmar

Defensemen (7): Sean Allen, Brendan De Jong, Patrik Parkkonen, Garrett Schmitz, Brendan Smith, Luke Shiplo, Riley Weselowski
Goalies (2): Mitch Gillam, Dylan Wells

Reserve (2): Peter Crinella, Eric Freschi

Wichita opens the season at home on Friday and Saturday, October 11th and 12th and will host the 2020 Warrior Hockey/ECHL All-Star Classic, presented by Toyota, on Wednesday, January 22nd, 2020. Get your tickets now for the league’s annual showcase that features some of the best young talent across the ECHL by clicking here.